The Organisational Structure

The organisational  structure of the DGIWG has been designed to expedite the flow of information between the policy makers, requirements and program managers, technical contributors, and stakeholders. There are three main components to the organisation, which are the:

  • Plenary Group (PG)
  • Policy and Technical Strategy Group (PTSG)
  • Technical Group (TG)

The three components are led and guided by a team of people who have set roles and responsibilities within the organisation. These roles are the: 

The figure below illustrates the relationship of the key roles.

Plenary Group

The PG is a representation of the DGIWG collective, members and non-members. It is chaired by the Director of DGIWG and supported by the Secretary, Requirements Coordinator, Technical Coordinator, Quality Coordinator, and Technical Panel Leads. It is attended by Principal National Representatives (PNRs) from Participating Nations, observer nations, representatives from associate organisations (e.g NATO), and Standards Development Organisations with which the DGIWG has established working relationships (e.g. Open Geospatial Consortium).

DGIWG convenes a Plenary Group meeting annually (hosted by Participating Nations on a rotational basis) to discuss and resolve policy issues, address existing and future needs and requirements, plan and approve a program of work, and address resource gaps and shortfalls.

Policy and Technical Strategy Group

The PTSG provides advice to the Director of DGIWG and the DGIWG Plenary on items such as interoperability shortfalls and gaps, risk mitigation, and emerging technologies. The group also has oversight of requirements and subsequent program of work, and community outreach. It consists of the Director, Secretary, Requirements Coordinator, Technical Coordinator, Quality Coordinator, Technical Panel Leads and representatives from member nations that serve in an advisory capacity.

Technical Group

The Technical Group operates under the leadership of the DGIWG Technical Coordinator. The Technical Group consist of Technical Panels which have been established to address specific program areas, namely:

  • P1 – Vector Data
  • P2 – Imagery and Gridded Data
  • P3 – Metadata
  • P4 – Portrayal
  • P5 – Web Services.

Each Technical Panel has a Technical Panel Lead and addresses select aspects of interoperability of geospatial information and services. A Technical Panel may have one or more active projects at any given time. The Technical Group meets twice per year. Individual Technical Panels and projects may meet more frequently.